Posted in Author Spotlight, Blog Tour, Cozy Mystery

Author Spotlight of Sara Rosett, Author of Murder at Archly Manor, a High Society Lady Detective Mystery

I’m pleased to have author Sara Rosett from Houston, Texas here to speak about her writing and new release, Murder at Archly Manor that’s on blog tour with Escape with Dollycas into a Good Book.

How long have you been published? What titles and/or series have you published and with which publisher? Have you self-published any titles? Please give details.

My first book, Moving is Murder, was published in 2006 with Kensington Books. It was the first book in the Ellie Avery Mystery series about a military spouse who moves around the country and finds murder and mayhem wherever she goes. That series has 10 books. I branched out into indie publishing in 2013 with the On the Run series. It was a combination of travel, mystery, and sweet romance in the tradition of Mary Stewart and Elizabeth Peters. The first book in that series is called Elusive, and there are now seven books in that series. I went back to writing traditional cozies with the Murder on Location series, which features a location scout traveling around England as she searches for venues to film Jane Austen movies. I self-published the series and the first book is called Death in the English Countryside. There are now seven books in the series. Most recently, I have been working on a historical mystery, which is set in 1920s England. Murder at Archly Manor is the first in the High Society Lady Detective series. The first three books in the series will release between now and Spring 2019.

That’s wonderful. You have quite a varied publishing background and some interesting series.

Tell us a little bit about your books — if you write a series, any upcoming releases or your current work-in-progress. If you have an upcoming release, please specify the release date.

My next book is Murder at Archly Manor, the first book in the High Society Lady Detective series. It comes out today, October 15, 2018. I’ve been working on the next two books in the series, Murder at Blackburn Hall and The Egyptian Antiquities Murder, and they will be out in 2019. With the historical setting, I’ve had to do a lot of research, but I love that! I’ve learned so much about 1920s daily life, including fashion, travel, food, communications, and transportation. It’s been fascinating!

Although I write modern cozies and other mysteries, I enjoy reading historical mysteries sometimes and have always enjoyed that time period. It must be fun to write about it.

Describe your goals as a writer. What do you hope to achieve in the next few years? What are you planning to do to reach these goals?

I love writing stories that entertain and give readers an escape from the everyday. I will continue to write and publish books in the series I have going, which means plugging away everyday writing, editing, and marketing the books.

I know what you mean. People who aren’t authors don’t realize the amount of time and hard work involved.

What type of reader are you hoping to attract?  Who do you believe would be most interested in reading your books?

A reader who loves a good puzzle mystery and wants to travel to interesting places through their reading is my ideal reader.

That’s a wide audience.

What advice would you give other authors or those still trying to get published?

Keep at it! Keep researching the market. I’d also suggest going to conferences and meeting other writers.

Good advice.

What particular challenges and struggles did you face before first becoming published?

I wasn’t sure anyone would want to read my books and I didn’t know if I could finish a book. I think those are common struggles for beginning writers. You just have to put your head down and keep pushing forward. Get the book written, that’s the first step. Then get feedback on it and see where you are.

I agree. It’s common when you start to feel unsure of yourself and your writing. It gets a little easier as you publish, but is still a challenge until you get good reviews or on some bestseller lists.

Do you belong to any writing groups? Which ones?

No, nothing formal. I do have several writer friends who live nearby and we meet up for lunch or dinner occasionally to talk about writing.

I’m sure that’s helpful.

What are your hobbies and interests besides writing?

I like walking/hiking and baking. I also enjoy traveling to new places. I’m a museum junkie and love to explore art museums, history museums, science museums…all kinds of museums!

I have similar hobbies. I don’t bake so much, but I love to walk and visit museums when I get the opportunity.

What do you like most and least about being an author? What is your toughest challenge?

I love research and working out the story in my head. The toughest challenge is getting the words on the page to match the story in my head. 🙂

Interesting. I don’t have that problem. I just need the time to devote to it. I use a light-up note pad by my bed to take notes if I get ideas during the night, so I can remember them the next day.

What do you like about writing cozy mysteries?

Cozies are so much fun because you get an inside look at a special world. Part of the story is finding out what it’s like to run a bakery or be a bookstore owner or escort a tour group.

Yes. I think that’s a big appeal to cozy mystery readers.

Is there anything else you’d like our readers to know about you or your books?

If you enjoy lighthearted mysteries with strong puzzles set in interesting locations, I hope you’ll check my books out. If you like travel, start with Elusive. If you like Jane Austen or English stately homes, try Death in the English Countryside. If you enjoy historical mysteries, check out Murder at Archly Manor.

Something for every mystery lover.

Please list your social media links, website, blog, etc. and include some book cover graphics and author photos if possible.

Website: https://www.SaraRosett.com

Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/SaraRosett

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/sararosett/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorSaraRosett/

Twitter: @SaraRosett https://twitter.com/SaraRosett

 Pinterest:  http://pinterest.com/srosett/

Litsy profile name: SaraRosett (no profile links available at this time, home page: http://litsy.com/)

GoodReads:  http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/256977.Sara_Rosett

LibraryThing: http://www.librarything.com/profile/SaraRosett

Amazon Author Page: https://www.amazon.com/Sara-Rosett/e/B001IXRPSS

Bookbub Author Page: https://www.bookbub.com/profile/sara-rosett

Wow, you have a lot of social media connections. Some I haven’t heard of but should look into myself. Thanks so much for the interview and best wishes on your new release. For those who would like to enter your rafflecopter, I’ve provided the link here. 

Murder at Archly Manor (High Society Lady Detective Series)
by Sara Rosett

About the Book



Murder at Archly Manor (High Society Lady Detective Series)

Historical Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Self Published (October 15, 2018)
Paperback: 252 pages
ISBN-10: 0998843164
ISBN-13: 978-0998843162
Digital ASIN: B07H2P8J3H

A high-society murder. A spirited lady detective. Can she out-class the killer before an innocent person takes the fall?

London, 1923. Olive Belgrave needs a job. Despite her aristocratic upbringing, she’s penniless. Determined to support herself, she jumps at an unconventional job—looking into the background of her cousin’s fiancé, Alfred. He burst into the upper crust world of London’s high society, but his answers to questions about his past are decidedly vague.

Before Olive can gather more than the basics, a murder occurs at a posh party. Suddenly, every Bright Young Person in attendance is a suspect, and Olive must race to find the culprit because a sly murderer is determined to make sure Olive’s first case is her last.

Murder at Archly Manor is the first in the High Society Lady Detective series of charming historical cozy mysteries. If you like witty banter, glamorous settings, and delightful plot twists, you’ll love USA Today bestselling author Sara Rosett’s series for Anglophiles and mystery lovers alike. Travel back to the Golden Age of detective fiction with Murder at Archly Manor.

Purchase Links

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

iBooks

Kobo

Google Play

a Rafflecopter giveaway
https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

October 11 – Community Bookstop – REVIEW

October 11 – My Reading Journeys – SPOTLIGHT

October 12 – The Avid Reader – REVIEW

October 12 – Cozy Up With Kathy – REVIEW, AUTHOR INTERVIEW

October 13 – Babs Book Bistro – SPOTLIGHT

October 13 – T’s Stuff – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

October 13 – Cassidy’s Bookshelves – REVIEW

October 14 – Readeropolis – CHARACTER INTERVIEW

October 14 – Christa Reads and Writes – REVIEW

October 15 – Bibliophile Reviews – REVIEW

October 15 – The Book Diva’s Reads – SPOTLIGHT

October 16 – Ruff Drafts – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

October 16 – Handcrafted Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

October 17 – A Chick Who Reads – REVIEW

October 17 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

October 18 – Mysteries with Character – GUEST POST

October 18 – MJB Reviewers – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

October 19 – Island Confidential – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

October 19 – Fantastic feathers – SPOTLIGHT

October 20 – StoreyBook Reviews – GUEST POST

October 21 – A Blue Million Books – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

October 21 – Paranormal and Romantic Suspense Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

October 22 – Devilishly Delicious Book Reviews – REVIEW

October 22 – I’m All About Books – SPOTLIGHT

October 23 – Jane Reads – REVIEW

October 23 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

October 24 – Carole’s Book Corner – REVIEW

October 24 – Here’s How It Happened – REVIEW

Advertisements

Author:

I'm a librarian at a public library and author of the Cobble Cove mystery series and other novels, short stories, articles, and a novella. My books include CLOUDY RAINBOW, A STONE'S THROW, BETWEEN A ROCK AND A HARD PLACE, WRITTEN IN STONE, and my REASON TO DIE. I have also completed a standalone psychological thriller, SEA SCOPE, and THE CASE OF THE CAT CRAZY LADY, the first of a new cozy series, for which I am currently seeking representation. I am a member of Sisters-in-Crime, Long Island Authors Group, and the Cat Writer's Association. I live on Long Island with my husband, daughter, and a cat.

2 thoughts on “Author Spotlight of Sara Rosett, Author of Murder at Archly Manor, a High Society Lady Detective Mystery

  1. Thank you for the author interview with Sara Rosett. Always love learning more about both about author and book first hand. Appreciate your being part of the “Murder at Archly Manor” blog tour with Escape with Dollycas into a Good Book.

    I can’t wait for the opportunity to read this great sounding book.
    2clowns at arkansas dot net

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.