Posted in Reviews

Review for Wrong Place, Wrong Time by Gillian McAllister

*Note: This book was an advanced reader’s copy from Net Galley. It was published on August 2, 2022, and is available for order on Amazon at https://www.amazon.com/Wrong-Place-Time-Novel-ebook/dp/B09NW4FN2R/

*****5-stars

Jen is a mama bear. She lives to protect her son, Todd. So when she witnesses him killing a strange man, she rightly freaks. But when she wakes up a day before it happens, she freaks even more. With a spin on Ground Hog’s Day, she continues to go back in time a day, several days, a month, even a year. It all seems to be random until she consults with a friend who has studied time travel and comes to the conclusion that the days she’s visiting aren’t random at all. They’re connected to the event she witnessed of her son killing a man named Joseph Jones. But where are they leading her, and what must she learn from this strange experience?

As Jen travels back in time, she learns more about her son, husband, and the man called Joseph Jones. More importantly, she faces her fears of not having been the best mother to Todd which believes has resulted in his becoming a killer. She also discovers some things about her husband that make her question their entire relationship.

Without giving spoilers, I have to say that the twists in this book were well done, even though I guessed two out of three. This was more than a time-travel story. It was a relationship and family story. Do you ever wonder what you’ve missed over the years that you would see differently if viewing them from your current perspective? There are some great points made here. You will find this book hard to put down.

Posted in Reviews

Review for A Dark and Stormy Tea, A Tea Shop Mystery by Laura Childs

*Note: This book was an advanced reader’s copy from Net Galley. It was published on August 9, 2022, and is available for order on Amazon at https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B09LH6VG4P

*****5-stars

This is the first mystery I’ve read by Laura Childs, and I can’t believe what I’ve missed. She has several series. This one, the Tea Shop Mysteries, takes place in Charleston, South Carolina and features Theodosia Browning who owns the Indigo Tea Shop and has a knack for solving crimes as well as brewing tea.

In A Dark and Stormy Tea, the 24th Tea Shop Mystery, Theodosia witnesses the murder of a bookstore owner’s daughter in a cemetery but, because of the rain, she was unable to see the face of the killer. Could he be Fogheel Jack, the name given to a murderer who has strangled women in the past in foggy weather?

The victim’s mother, a friend of Theodosia, asks for her help catching the killer. Against her Detective boyfriend’s wishes and despite her tea sommelier, Drayton’s discouragement, she pursues her own investigation and is nearly killed after a successful mystery tea at her shop.

I found this a charming cozy. The characters and atmosphere were great, and there was an interesting twist. A big plus are the recipes at the end of the book for tea and other yummy goodies. You will devour this story. Highly recommended.

Posted in Blog Tour, Cozy Mystery, Spotlight

Spotlight and Blog Tour for Inheriting Murder: the first Bobwhite Mountain Cozy Mystery by Jamie Rutland Gillespie


Inheriting Murder: A Bobwhite Mountain Cozy Mystery
by Jamie Rutland Gillespie

About Inheriting Murder


Inheriting Murder: A Bobwhite Mountain Cozy Mystery
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Setting – Tennessee
Independently Published (May 1, 2022)
Paperback ‏ : ‎ 287 pages
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 979-8814800398
Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09Z9889D4

When Landry Burke’s favorite Aunt Tildie passes away, Landry inherits the entire estate. It includes a five story apartment building named Magnolia Place, as well as a bookstore across the street named Jasmine Bloom Books, both located in Bobwhite Mountain, Tennessee.

Landry packs up and leaves Bent Branch, SC for the hills of Tennessee. On her very first day there, she and her aunt’s attorney, Adam Wilcox, find the body of one of Magnolia Place’s employees. Between her panic attacks, anxiety and trying to adjust to her new surroundings, Landry wants this murder solved and fast.

Sheriff Wyatt Collins and his deputies are on the case. Now, if they can just keep Landry from trying to help and causing danger to herself.

And Jasmine Bloom’s manager, and late Aunt Tildie’s best friend, Ms. Millie, is convinced that Landry is trying to get her killed because of all the zany situations they find themselves in.

Take a visit to Bobwhite Mountain and find out what all of the fuss is about.

About Jamie Rutland Gillespie

Jamie Rutland Gillespie was born and raised in a tiny, country town in South Carolina. At the age of 18, she moved to a slightly larger town in the same state and still lives there. She spent much of her youth visiting the beaches of the low country and taking trips to the mountains of North Carolina and Tennessee. The mountains were always her “happy place” and she still visits every chance she gets.

Jamie has always loved to read; she got her library card at the small library of her hometown at the young age of 6. She has a vivid imagination and has always made-up stories of places, people and situations that only exist in her head.

She currently lives in South Carolina with her husband, daughter and 17-year-old Yorkie Pom, who is her baby and shadow. She loves college football and has been a South Carolina Gamecock fan since birth. She also loves MLB and has been a Braves fan since she was a little girl, watching the games and going to games with her Dad. She is still an avid reader and enjoys writing, crossword puzzles, baking, and spending time with her family.

Author Links

FacebookInstagramAmazonTwitterBookBub

Purchase Link – Amazon

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

August 1 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

August 1 – Christa Reads and Writes – SPOTLIGHT

August 2 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW

August 2 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT

August 3 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

August 3 – I Read What You Write – SPOTLIGHT

August 4 – Christy’s Cozy Corners – RECIPE POST

August 4 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

August 5 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT

August 5 – Lisa Ks Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 6 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 7 – Brooke Blogs – SPOTLIGHT

August 8 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 8 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 9 – Novels Alive – RECIPE POST

August 10 – Novels Alive – REVIEW

August 10 – Hearts & Scribbles – SPOTLIGHT

August 11 – Baroness Book Trove – SPOTLIGHT

August 12 – Literary Gold – SPOTLIGHT

August 13 – StoreyBook Reviews – REVIEW

August 13 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – SPOTLIGHT

August 14 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?

Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!

Posted in Blog Tour, Spotlight

Spotlight and Blog Tour for A Killing in Costumes, the first Hollywood Treasures Cozy Mystery by Zac Bissonnette


A Killing in Costumes (A Hollywood Treasures Mystery)
by Zac Bissonnette

About A Killing in Costumes


A Killing in Costumes (A Hollywood Treasures Mystery)
Cozy Mystery – LBGT
1st in Series
Setting – California
Crooked Lane Books (August 9, 2022)
Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 320 pages
ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1639100865
ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1639100866
Digital ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09LH99ZCM

Stardom fades fast when you’re on the line for murder, in this debut cozy mystery perfect for fans of Richard Osman and Jenn McKinlay.

Jay Allan and Cindy Cooper were soap opera stars in the late ’90s, a wholesome young husband-and-wife duo who combined musical talent with humor and charisma. When the truth about their sexual orientations came to light, their marriage and TV careers ended, but decades later they have remained friends. Together, they open Palm Springs’ chicest movie memorabilia store, Hooray for Hollywood–but no customers and dwindling finances spell trouble.

A Hail Mary arrives in the form of Yana Tosh, a ninety-year-old diva of the silver screen who has amassed a valuable collection of costumes and props and is looking to sell. But first, Jay and Cindy have to beat their competition, a vice president from a mega-auction house with ten times their resources. And when he winds up dead, they become prime suspects in the murder.

With their freedom and livelihoods on the line, Jay and Cindy desperately need to clear their names. There are plenty of other potential suspects, but they’ll have to solve it soon before they’re forced to trade in their vintage costume collection for two orange jumpsuits.

About Zac Bissonnette

Zac Bissonnette is the New York Times bestselling author of several nonfiction books, including The Great Beanie Baby Bubble: Mass Delusion and the Dark Side of Cute.

His favorite singer is Perry Como. His favorite author is Agatha Christie. His favorite tea is Harney & Sons Hot Cinnamon Spice.

Author Links – WebsiteTwitterBookBubGoodReads

Purchase Links – AmazonB&NKoboGoogle PlayIndieBound

TOUR PARTICIPANTS

August 3 – Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book – REVIEW

August 3 – Ruff Drafts – SPOTLIGHT

August 3 – I Read What You Write – SPOTLIGHT

August 4 – FUONLYKNEW – SPOTLIGHT

August 4 – Socrates Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 5 – The Editing Pen – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

August 5 – Maureen’s Musings – SPOTLIGHT

August 6 – Books a Plenty Book Reviews – REVIEW, CHARACTER INTERVIEW

August 6 – StoreyBook Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 7 – Lady Hawkeye – SPOTLIGHT

August 7 – Books Blog – SPOTLIGHT

August 8 – Celticlady’s Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 8 – Moonlight Rendezvous – REVIEW

August 9 – Literary Gold – AUTHOR INTERVIEW

August 9 – #BRVL Book Review Virginia Lee Blog – SPOTLIGHT

August 10 – Ascroft, eh? – GUEST POST

August 10 – Novels Alive – REVIEW

August 10 – Novels Alive – SPOTLIGHT

August 11 – Elizabeth McKenna – Author – SPOTLIGHT

August 12 – Sapphyria’s Book Reviews – SPOTLIGHT

August 12 – BookishKelly2020 – SPOTLIGHT

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Have you signed up to be a Tour Host?
Click Here to Find Details and Sign Up Today!