Posted in Reviews

Review for Wrong Place, Wrong Time by Gillian McAllister

*Note: This book was an advanced reader’s copy from Net Galley. It was published on August 2, 2022, and is available for order on Amazon at


Jen is a mama bear. She lives to protect her son, Todd. So when she witnesses him killing a strange man, she rightly freaks. But when she wakes up a day before it happens, she freaks even more. With a spin on Ground Hog’s Day, she continues to go back in time a day, several days, a month, even a year. It all seems to be random until she consults with a friend who has studied time travel and comes to the conclusion that the days she’s visiting aren’t random at all. They’re connected to the event she witnessed of her son killing a man named Joseph Jones. But where are they leading her, and what must she learn from this strange experience?

As Jen travels back in time, she learns more about her son, husband, and the man called Joseph Jones. More importantly, she faces her fears of not having been the best mother to Todd which believes has resulted in his becoming a killer. She also discovers some things about her husband that make her question their entire relationship.

Without giving spoilers, I have to say that the twists in this book were well done, even though I guessed two out of three. This was more than a time-travel story. It was a relationship and family story. Do you ever wonder what you’ve missed over the years that you would see differently if viewing them from your current perspective? There are some great points made here. You will find this book hard to put down.



I'm a retired librarian and the author of the Cobble Cove and Buttercup Bend cozy mystery series and other novels, short stories, poems, articles, and a novella. My books include CLOUDY RAINBOW, REASON TO DIE, SEA SCOPE, MEMORY MAKERS, TIME'S RELATIVE, MEOWS AND PURRS, and MEMORIES AND MEOWS. My Cobble Cove cozy mystery series published by Solstice Publishing consists of 6 books: A STONE'S THROW, BETWEEN A ROCK AND A HARD PLACE, WRITTEN IN STONE, LOVE ON THE ROCKS, NO GRAVESTONE UNTURNED, and SNEAKY'S SUPERNATURAL MYSTERY AND OTHER COBBLE COVE STORIES. My new Buttercup Bend series published by Next Chapter Publishing includes THE CASE OF THE CAT CRAZY LADY and THE CASE OF THE PARROT LOVING PROFESSOR. I've also written a romantic comedy novella, WHEN JACK TRUMPS ACE, and short stories of various genres published as eBooks and in anthologies published by the Red Penguin Collection. My poetry appears in the Nassau County Voices in Verse and the Bard's Annual. I'm a member of Sisters-in-Crime, International Thriller Writers, and the Cat Writers' Association. I live on Long Island with my husband, daughter, and 2 cats.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.