Posted in Reviews

Review for Last to Vanish by Megan MIranda

*Note: This book was an advanced reader’s copy from Net Galley. It will be published on July 26, 2022, but is available for pre-order now on Amazon at

****4 stars

This book had a haunting quality. Abigail Lovett works at the Passage Inn in the small town of Cutter’s Pass, a small mountain town in North Carolina. After ten years in town, she still feels like an outsider. When Trey West arrives in town looking for answers from the place where his brother Landon West disappeared several months ago, all the stories and theories about the other residents who went missing after hiking a trail from the inn resurge. The first group, over twenty years ago, consisted of four young men known as the Fraternity Four. Years after their disappearance a young woman disappeared and then another several years later. There didn’t seem to be anything connecting these travelers, but West seeks to find out the truth about these disappearances and his brother’s.

The story includes several small twists and one large one that’s revealed at the end. The characters are well drawn. I found the writing gave off an air of danger. It had a haunting quality to it as Abby discovers clues to the disappearances and the stories are retold, awakening secrets of the residents of this small town.

It’s a good read if you like well-developed characters, and an interesting, small-town mystery.



I'm a retired librarian and the author of the Cobble Cove and Buttercup Bend cozy mystery series and other novels, short stories, poems, articles, and a novella. My books include CLOUDY RAINBOW, REASON TO DIE, SEA SCOPE, MEMORY MAKERS, TIME'S RELATIVE, MEOWS AND PURRS, and MEMORIES AND MEOWS. My Cobble Cove cozy mystery series published by Solstice Publishing consists of 6 books: A STONE'S THROW, BETWEEN A ROCK AND A HARD PLACE, WRITTEN IN STONE, LOVE ON THE ROCKS, NO GRAVESTONE UNTURNED, and SNEAKY'S SUPERNATURAL MYSTERY AND OTHER COBBLE COVE STORIES. My new Buttercup Bend series published by Next Chapter Publishing includes THE CASE OF THE CAT CRAZY LADY and THE CASE OF THE PARROT LOVING PROFESSOR. I've also written a romantic comedy novella, WHEN JACK TRUMPS ACE, and short stories of various genres published as eBooks and in anthologies published by the Red Penguin Collection. My poetry appears in the Nassau County Voices in Verse and the Bard's Annual. I'm a member of Sisters-in-Crime, International Thriller Writers, and the Cat Writers' Association. I live on Long Island with my husband, daughter, and 2 cats.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.